Two

Since Monday my son has been unable to use his best friend the wii. The following is a posting of mine from facebook:

Me: My child is driving me crazy because our wii sensor broke and he has been unable to play for three days!!! My poor baby just said his poor fingers are hurting from trying to use the wii remote. Give me strength God because I’ll be hearing about this one forever probably!!!

My sister commented back:
Melissa Marie Loss: How did it brake? They are cheap to replace if you get a used one.
Me: Adrian fixed it! I swear that kid knows technology. He opened a panel and there was a red button that said sync so I pushed that one and the one in the remote and that fixed it. Adrian kept saying theres another Option mom and I had know idea what he meant but he’s been repeating that phrase for the last three days. I told him there were two options 1) replace the batteries in the remote 2) replace the wii sensor bar. He was right there’s another option push the red buttons 🙂

This is another reminder for me that our child is smarter than most people think he is. He also never forgets anything. I use this incredible memory of his for scheduling a lot of the time. Any routine I make he can pretty much follow and his memory reminds him like a written checklist. I often hear him saying first we do this then this then this and remember those are all things His teachers, his dad and I have taught him and he remembers. Then there are spontaneous moments where he remembers what no one has taught him like today and this past Saturday.

He wanted a favorite I spy Thomas the train book. He asked his dad and Steve could not understand him then he said Mommmmm as he often does I want my Thomas book and I said I have not seen that book in months and he said I want my Thomas book. I thought I’d give it a shot and I asked him if he knew where it was? He said yep it’s behind my blue toy box in my closet. There is no way he could have seen this book. The toys were stacked too far up against the wall. After dragging out toys I reached behind and sure enough there was the treasured Thomas book 🙂 How he knew it was there without seeing it I’ll never know for sure, but I am almost positive that amazing memory has everything to do with it!!! I am hoping this trait will help him with homework and other things as he grows in life.

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on June 8, 2011, in Family Life, Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. OMg! Susan, that is such a cool story! What a smarty! I love hearing about all his talents and his memory is amazing! I’m always shocked when we come home from out of state and he remembers our last visit in detail! He is too cool!!! =)

Leave a Reply

