Informational Media for Parents

I wanted to put together a list of books and other media that I have found helpful in understanding what my son goes through and for information in general.

The first book I read on the subject of Autism was Jenny McCarthy’s Louder than Words. I won this book through our autism support group. There has been a lot of controversy about Jenny McCarthy and her son’s autism or non autism. Either way I believe this book is worth reading!!! I found it to be a very emotionally charged read. Whether you love her or hate her in my opinion the book is excellent and has a section of contact information and leading books on Autism.

Pervasive Developmental Disorder An Altered Perspective by Barbra Quinn and Anthony Malone is informative and detailed about all ends of the Spectrum.

Strange Son by Portia Iversen is wonderful!!! I found this book to be uplifting and hopeful. A wonderful read!! If you read it I hope you end with the same feeling 🙂

Toilet training for Individuals with Autism and Other Developmental Issues by Maria Wheeler
Useful ideas for ways to handle toiling issues.

Early Intervention and Autism: Real-Life Questions, Real-Life Answers by James Ball
A step by step guide for newly diagnosed parents. I recommend this book for anyone even if your child’s diagnosis is not new. There is a lot of useful information.

Ten Things Every Child With Autism Wishes You Knew by Ellen Notbohm
My son’s first teacher recommend this book to me after three years in her class and finally a diagnosis. I read this one second.

I also have The Way I See It by Temple Grandin. I have not read this book throughly yet.

There are also several wonderful movies my favorites include Temple Grandin and Autism The Musical.

We have also used a DVD to help our child learn emotions called The Transporters. Here is a link to the website:

http://www.thetransporters.com/

A site I also went to after Adrian being diagnosed is Autism Speaks. You can create a profile and connect with other parents as well as ask questions. I found support from Parents when starting our son on a Gluten and casein free diet (GFCF) and when trying out medicines.

I will add more media as I come across it.

20110608-060445.jpg

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Resources & Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Really great post Susan! Parents will love to find these resources and I’m glad to be able to look into them too! Thanks for the list! =)

Leave a Reply

