Dentist and the spectrum

This week we had an odd event occur. Our son has been to the dentist a total of three times. This is due mostly to me having to find a dentist that would work with him. Usually he is stressed out and fidgety. Yesterday he and his sister were scheduled for a cleaning. I always try to schedule them together so I only have to make one trip. This visit went completely different. Usually he is super clingy to me. He has extreme separation anxiety. This visit he was semi stressed until his name was called then he went with the tech by himself and had his teeth cleaned. I was told he did well and had no cavities. He also has issues with people touching him. His calmness shocked me!! The only bad part of the appointment was him going into the bathroom without me knowing and me Franticly searching because I thought he might have wandered off. I was preoccupied. With paperwork and took my eyes of him for half a minute!! That kid knows how to scare me I swear!!! Luckily he did not wander, just went potty 🙂 I am used to watching him like a hawk on preemptive strike.
His teachers said his wandering has dramatically reduced I might be inclined to believe them now. How have you other parents dealt with dental or other appointment or other issues?

This is just another sign that my little guy is growing up and gaining more skills and that makes me happy 🙂

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on June 11, 2011, in Genetics & Health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Aww…that is really cool! Not about him scaring you…lol. But that he was independent and even when he wander off, it was to go potty. What a cool story. =) So proud of him!

Leave a Reply

