Epilepsy and Autism

The following is of a incident that happened two weeks ago:

So Adrian was acting off during bed time and I thought we might see some seizure activity tonight. I went in to check on him at 9:45 about an hour after he fell asleep and there were the signs of a seizure heavy drool, blood shot eyes, and listlessness. I can always tell when either of the kids have seized having been through it so many times, but with Jade our oldest her seizures wake her up and she is able to tell us she has just seized and she has done so with every single seizure she has had. Adrian is completely opposite. His body goes limp almost like he is numb. He can not respond and will not wake up. Adrian is autistic, Jade is not. Adrian also has an enlarged Hippocampus, Jade does not. Both of our children have a condition known as Begnin Rolandic Epilepsy or BRE. This condition causes complex partial seizures.

In April Adrian had what are now called Tonic Clonic seizures. He had at least six in one day and that was the first time he had that type of seizure and the last time he has seized until tonight. I see the difference in a non autistic child with epilepsy and an autistic child with epilepsy they are very different as I have described briefly above.

So I called the neurologist this morning and explained what happened to the answering machine. A nurse called me back two hours later to ask me more details and tell me what was happening with medicine. I explained that we Went out to dinner last night and Adrian who is also lactose intolerant insisted on having Mac & Cheese. That’s the one thing he eats at Red Robin. He had a stomach ache and nasty side effects and the nurse thinks he seized because his medicine was not absorbed normally. Could be possible but usually when he has a seizure it is because he needs a dose increase. Which she suggested we do.

I wish we had gone somewhere different, he loves Mac & cheese but does not eat it ever. That was our second time at Red Robin and the first time he had no reaction to it at all maybe they made it differently or he had something else going on. I know I will not let him have it again ever. Count it as a lesson learned!!

There are many things that have been learned most important is this: How to accept what is and what is not. At first this was hard I had not heard that some children excel in some areas and not in others. My oldest child seemed able to do anything without problem. I had never really consider the possibility that my second child would be any different in that area. I was shocked that my kids were night and day in every area even ability. Yep kids are different no two are alike I said to myself and anyone else who commented. The truth was I was in denial obviously I knew something wad wrong and did not want to see it. I was blinded by my want for everything to be normal!

Now I’m like what the heck is normal anyway? Our son can’t help the way he is, but we can help him by accepting what he is and is not, what he can do and what he can not, who he is and who he is not!! He defines himself more and more everyday. I am learning to take things in stride. Not worrying what others might think, remembering it’s about him and his needs not me and mine. Yes both of my children are different but they are each special and unique and most of all treasured 🙂

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on July 17, 2011, in Genetics & Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

