My son

Adrian is seven years old. Today he looked at me while I was running towards him after hearing him cry ayudame and said mom that rain drop looks like my face. Then he proceeded to remind me about a trip we took to the park in Fruitport where we saw ducks. His mind is amazing and mystical. He sees water and makes several connections instantly. I think fondly of walking on the small dock and sitting with him while he melted down. Big crowds cause huge meltdowns and this day was no exception. We were there at the park for a family reunion. My mother in laws side. We arrived late so we wouldn’t have to stay long just in case. Adrian was getting really cranky and overstimulated and so I suggested we walk. We just walked until we ended up on that dock. Adrian pointed at the ducks and said quack and asked what ducks eat. I said bread or whatever they can find. I was tempted to tell him about my memories of feeding ducks when I was a child but decided against it. If he decided he wanted to feed ducks and I said we didn’t have anything to feed them another meltdown would surely follow and he was already so stressed. Sitting by the water looking at ducks calmed him completely. I don’t know what it is about water, but on my child it has a serene calming whenever he is near it as long as it does not touch his face or clothes.

I remember that day vividly as if it were yesterday even though it was last year. One of the first events we took Adrian on after his diagnosis. I am so happy that he seems not to remember the meltdown or the crowded area. He only recalls the lake and the ducks 🙂 We have come a long way since then and still have a ways to go. There have been many good days but just as many bad days. The fact that my child remembers the good and not the bad is amazing!! I always say there’s hope and that’s because I want to spread the message to other parents. There is hope! We now take our son out everywhere with little incident of meltdowns. It can be done. This weekend we are taking Adrian and his sister to our local Amusement park which we have not been to since he was two. I am a bit nervous about how he will do with crowds but I am sure we will be okay!! Progress is proof of what hope and hard work can make happen!!!

20110717-043637.jpg

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on July 17, 2011, in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

