Autism and Feelings

I started this one last weekend.

Adrian was expecting to go to his grandparents house this week. I just called to see if we could visit and i found out that everyone is sick so no visit this weekend. Adrian immediately said he wanted to take two cans of soup over to his grandparents so that they can feel better.

According to everything I have ever read on Autism the basic common thought among professionals is that people with autism do not understand feelings or feel themselves.

I can tell you from experience as I am sure many parents can and will if given the chance that what so many professionals believe is simply not the case.

My son is full of emotions! He just does not express them as most of us do. He knows that mommy makes him soup when he is sick so that he can feel better. He used this example to show concern for his grandparents. He laughs when he is happy and flaps his hands. He whines when he does want to do something and he cries when he’s hurt. He also yells when he’s angry. He knows when I or someone in our house are angry or sad and he will tell us he’s sorry if he was the one who did something to upset someone. He is very honest about how he feels even if he can not find the exact words to express himself.

This might be the worst of the stereotypes for us. People often think that because Adrian has Autism they can say whatever they want and he will not care. I have heard people say well your son’s Autistic right? Does that mean he’s a genius, does that mean he can’t hear us, does that mean he can’t feel, does that mean he is selfish? Good God I want to say! He is Seven!!!! I ought to just walk away. But instead I try to inform others and let them now that Autism is a neurological disorder essential a difference in my sons brain and that we don’t quite now what will happen. Does any one know their future? I feel like saying! How to deter stupid questions 101 is a class someone should form!!

For now we will focus on teaching Adrian about feelings, trying not to take stupid questions personally, and doing our best to educate ourselves and others about Autism and Adrian. Hope for change, equality and acceptance is what gets me through. That and the fact that my child is amazing and I could not imagine him being any other way!!

20110807-112352.jpg

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on August 7, 2011, in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love this post Susan! I love that he wanted to take care of his grandma and I can so relate on the ignorant, annoying questions! So glad you are speaking up about this!

  2. Great post! I can so relate. Because my son – our kids – do understand our feelings.

    http://www.autismwonderland.com/2010/10/saved-from-pool-of-tears.html – this is one of my favorite posts, and the moment I knew that my son related to me.

Leave a Reply

