Autism and ADHD

I was reading an article today which I will post here that concludes a study done on patients with ADHD and Autism who have copy variants. This means a duplication or deletion of chromosomes. The study went on to say that some of these copy variants can be linked to patients with ADHD and Autism and that 75 percent of children with Autism also have ADHD.

Adrian falls within this 75 percent. His sister and my only other living child has half of this scenario the ADHD half. While I am unsure whether she carries the duplications her brother inherited from me. I am pretty sure she does. I have to take her to have the test done.

Both children also have an Auditory Processing Disorder. More sign of my bad genes at work. I have one of my three siblings who have also had genetic testing done and it turns out she has a completely different genetic condition than I do yet at least two of her five children also have ADHD. How odd is that?

She keeps telling me the genetic lab wants to study our family because two different copy variants in full blooded siblings is extremely rare. I am supposed to be going back to the lab in December so they can track Adrian. One of the duplications I passed on to him is known to cause Autism.

I knew it was genetic because he has been they way he is since birth. Jade has too but her impressive earliness to meet milestones and rapid language development hid that fact from me. She has always been a brilliant child when it comes to those things. Last year we had to hire a private tutor to work with her because she was behind in math. She also started soccer which she loved.

The Auditory Processing Disorder distorts the way my children hear and learn. You can not find this disorder by doing a simple hearing test. It took six hours of neuropsychological testing to come to that conclusion for each of my children.

This would explain why my children do not respond to mine or my husband voice the first time or subsequent times. Why I am told I yell way too often by my mother who means well but infuriates me whenever she mentions it. I must yell in order to get their attention often. I used to think they were both just being defiant and maybe that is a part of it. But for the most part it is the fact that the connectors in their brains misconnect signals to their ears both the left ear. I think I have this disorder too though I have not been diagnosed. This disorder manifests as an inability to hear and can cause the person to speak louder than normally.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Auditory_processing_disorder

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

