Nightmares and Mood Swings

I went through this when Adrian was two and three. An obsession for fecal matter. He would smear it on walls and toys and we would clean it diligently. This has not happened since that time until today.

Adrian was yelling and screaming and I rushed to the bathroom thinking he pooped on the toilet and wanted to show me as he often does. He has been pee trained for years but the poop training did not start until about three months ago. As always with some new skills he goes through periods of regression. The scene in the bathroom he and his sister share was too much for me to handle. I found feces stomped in and urine on the floor. I could clearly make out his footprints. Thank God he did not put his hands in it. He was yelling “mom I need a shower” The old me would have spanked him till he was red. Before diagnosis before knowing anything about the impulsiveness  of Autism, before I really knew my son and what makes him him. My guess is he was trying to clean it up and thought his feet would do the job. at any rate I did yell. Then I got on my hands and knees and started cleaning. Adrian was already in the shower washing himself. I asked my husband for help. He was fast asleep on our Chaise and I can’t say I really blame him because he worked most of the night and part of Saturday morning.

I thought Adrian at his age, seven, would not be doing that anymore. As I have always told anyone who asks he has cycling moods. One month he could be obsessed with something Thomas and Friends for example and want to buy every character he sees. The next month it could be Wall-e or Dora that he is obsessed with. Most do not seem to get this concept. He has been like this for as long as I can remember though. Since he first started to get interested in anything. We still go through periods where he asking for every Thomas thing he sees or watching every Thomas episode he finds and then all of a sudden he does not want anything to do with Thomas and then three to six months later he is right back to his obsession. Bi Polar Disorder runs heavily in my family. Both of my parents are Bi Polar 1 or 2 and I think my brother is also. I often wonder if maybe I also am. I have never been diagnosed with any disability at all. My mother says she has had my brother and the three of us girls tested for everything. I am afraid Adrian already seems to be showing signs of Bi Polar. When we had him evaluated the psychologist diagnosed him with mood disorder. I am hoping today’s episode is not his latest recurring obsession.

To put it in terms he would understand I explained to him that Monkeys behave in the way that he did today. That they throw their fecal matter and smear it. That well mommy was angry at what he did I was not angry at him and that I was also not raising a Monkey. That I did not appreciate what he did and that he was never to do so again or he would face more serious consequences than 45 minutes of no privileges. He is so big on privileges such as the ipod, television, Wii and  computer. He will do anything not to lose privileges. I told him we expect him to behave appropriately and that what he did was not appropriate. I never leave anything alone. Every mistake a learning opportunity. For him and myself as well. I have to be tough and determine what is fair. The last thing I want is him thinking he can get away with whatever he does and walk all over me. That will never work because it does not teach respect for one’s self or others or personal property. The highlight of the day was when his sister suggested they get online and look up Monkeys and I said why Jade? We don’t need for him to learn how to fling feces like a Monkey too. To which Adrian replied No Touching Feces or Poop.

We, none of us, chose for Autism to happen but now we must deal with the good and bad of it. I just pray there is more good than bad and Thank God for us there usually is.

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on August 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

