Autism and School

Things have been crazy in the Treptow house as Jade and Adrian both started back to school September 6.

Both of my kids are in different schools this year. Adrian moved up to first grade which is in a different building then Kindergarten was. Jade who was in the first grade through third grade building moved to the fourth grade through sixth grade building.

Jade has been doing great!! Adrian not so much! The change in schools for him also comes with a change in schedule. Instead of attending half day like in kindergarten the first grade attends full day. As anyone raising a kid on the spectrum probably knows change is difficult for children with ASD especially a change in routine.

Yesterday I was waiting with Jade for Adrian to arrive off the bus. When he got there his bus driver apologized for being late and proceeded to tell me why she was late….
It seems that Adrian after having a rough day locked himself in the teachers bathroom and overflowed the bathroom sink. A lot of time was spent trying to get him out. Let me say this we don’t have locks on any door except our front and back doors. Adrian does not have a lot of practice with locking and unlocking doors. That being said I am wondering how he was allowed to wonder into a teachers bathroom and lock himself in.

I know why he plugged the sink too. He has a fascination with water. He try’s to “keep” it in one area. We have had our issues with this problem here at home too. This is why I can be seen running down the hallway to the kids bathroom on any given day if I think he has been in there for longer than needed.

I want him to have his individual space to do what he needs to without my hovering. Sometimes I am just too dang busy too hover. I want him to also know that I am there if he needs me. He is always shouting mom and then whatever he wants anyways 😉

For this episode at school he got grounded for an hour the longest he has managed to stay away from his privileges. His privileges are the wii, computer, television, and mom’s iPod touch. He does not place value on being outside at all. In fact he hates being outdoors period. Our daughter loves being outside. Just another of the many ways the two are different.

Right now I can hear them playing wii golf. Adrian just got a bronze medal and Jade said “nice job get down here and give me a high five”. They are so sweet to each other. For awhile I thought Adrian’s meltdown’s might ruin that but it hasn’t. I am quick to make sure they apologize after fighting and that they respect each other. Those are things that never were encouraged while I was growing up in a crazy mixed up household.

I went off track again though. Adrian causing problems in the bathroom at school is a prime example of sensory seeking behavior. He does this sensory seeking to calm himself down when he is upset. Here at home we pull out his Underarmor shirt, a neoprene vest, or a piece of material his O/T gave us that we call the body sock. It is like compression nylon that is used for diabetic feet, but not nylon. He also has his favorite fleece blanket that he carries with him everywhere. I am working on trying to get our insurance to cover a weighted blanket.

This sensory seeking takes place in all new places we visit. He must visit the bathroom of every new place and flush the toilet. He will put his hands over his ears because the noise is too loud but he still has to flush the toilet. Once on a trip to the restaurant Red Robin he flushed the toilet and immediately started screaming because it was really loud. He then flushed it again because his sensory seeking drive was so high.

We mostly avoid new places because of Adrian’s sensory seeking. We did take him to a restaurant we had not been to before last month though. We got a table in a back corner and he was fine except for moving around in the corner. He always needs some sensory stimulation even if it’s small movement. I really believe that his body demands it. We jump or walk or I carry him when things get to be too much.

On the day he came home after locking himself in all he wanted was for me to carry him. I did for awhile on our walk home from the bus stop. It’s nice to know that my child with his limited speech phrases and non answering of basic questions such as why did you lock yourself in the bathroom? His answer because i’m not supposed to. Can let me know what he needs by saying mom carry me.

I learn more everyday just from listening and watching Adrian. Having a child with ASD is a beautiful and utterly exhausting gift. You get to see things no one else could show you. That’s the plus side of autism.

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on September 10, 2011, in Family Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

