Month Number One

We are in our last week of month one in school 🙂 Things have been rocky at best. Adrian had some big adjustments to make…

He switched from a half day to a full day school schedule. Made the move into a completely new school building. Is not in an inclusion setting but not entirely mainstreamed either. Eats breakfast at home and brings a lunch to school everyday. These are all big changes for any child, but for my ASD child and many other ASD children changes like these that would seem small to some are the very thing that cause sleep interruption, an increase in stimming and generally confusing behavior. My child tends to seek out soothing when extremely stressed. I can not tell you how many times he has asked to take a shower because water soothes him during the last month. Stimming is a repetitive body movement that is hypothesized to stimulate one or more senses. The term is shorthand for self-stimulation. Repetitive movement, or stereotypy, is often referred to as stimming under the hypothesis that it has a function related to sensory input.[1] Autistic individuals are sometimes known to stim. In some cases it helps with thinking or concentration while in others it can assist in bleeding off excessive excitement about something, taken from; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stimming. My son will often stim by chewing on his hands or repeating entire sections of Dora The Explorer. He jumps, spins, flaps his hands and counts also.

Since school began on September 6th his stimming is occurring more frequently. The most common stim he has is reading books over and over to the point of never ending. All July and August his favorite book was Dumbo. We had to read it every single night in order for him to fall asleep. Then he would read it to himself several times before he could fall asleep. He is now reading the book Clifford’s First Valentines Day. This one has been a long time love of his. We finally found it last week and bought him his own copy. He still brings his teachers home almost everyday along with more of Clifford’s Firsts…

He has a favorite blanket that he must sleep with. He likes everything to be the same everyday. I like to roll with the punches. Mundane is not my thing at all. Maybe my child was given to me so I would learn to slow down and appreciate things. However they maybe. We have a lot of excitement over things I never thought I could ever be excited about!! Before children I was wild, crazy, and free. After children I am appreciative of the small things in life no longer wild or crazy but that does not matter once you have children. Now I realize I was never free. I was just passing time waiting for my biggest adventure!!

Raising children is a frustrating, never-ending learning process. My children have shown me a world I would have never known without them. They are my greatest blessing and joy!!!

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Family Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Susan, this is so sweet. 🙂 I really love this story and I’m excited to go looking for the Clifford book now too and read it with Lily, since it’s Adrian’s favorite. You’re so right…being a mom is the biggest adventure! =)

  2. Im impressed, I should say. Extremely rarely do I come across a blog thats both informative and entertaining, and let me let you know, youve hit the nail on the head. Your weblog is crucial; the concern is one thing that not enough people today are talking intelligently about. Im actually pleased that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing relating to this concern.

  3. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

