Finding Ways to Interact

Today the man decided we should take Jade and Adrian out for breakfast. We went to a Buffett type restaurant called Golden Corral.

Adrian as usual did not want to eat much. He stuck to juice and sausage. Jade is getting closer to her birthday # 10 on the 25th of this month. She is all about discussing her birthday like most 9 year olds. So basically we had a breakfast where Jade talked about her birthday and Adrian read his Clifford book.

At one point I was in awe…

Adrian who does not interact with anyone unless prompted started asking us to count lightbulbs with him in a ceiling fixture, there were six above us, and the amount of Clifford books on the back cover of his book, there are twenty-six, I was the only one at that table who seemed surprised by this.

My daughter will complain because her brother does not ask her to do things with him. Playing the wii or computer are his solo things. Anyone who tries to jump in and play will get yelled at by him. We practice turn taking at every opportunity. Today I spent time playing Jewel Quest on the computer with Adrian not because he asked me to but because he was getting frustrated and I stepped in he was perfectly fine with that.

I cherish those moments!! They are few and far between.

We spent time in a pet store today too. He loves hamsters!! He spent the most time trying to fit himself into an igloo dog house. He loves tight spaces. He will climb behind our couch to feel safe. He has climbed in between his mattress and box spring before. He has a cottage in his room that provides closeness.

I was told by his therapist that children with Sensory integration and processing issues tend to need pressure to feel their bodies. I think of this every time I see him fitting himself into a tight space.

Something else amazing happened tonight while I was getting him ready for bed. He was having a hard time transitioning from computer time to bed time and I said Adrian do you need to be squeezed? And he said yes mom squeeze me. That has never happened before!! I always do pressure massage where I apply pressure to his legs and arms when he is getting to meltdown stage. We also do joint compression. This helps him calm down, find his space, and relax. As much as he possibly can. I find deep breathing to be my safety if all else fails.

I have hope that things will get easier!!! That we will find more ways to join Adrian and that he will allow us to join him without resistance. That he will find the ways to let us know he wants us to interact with him. My husband and I try and I encourage Jade to try too. She is a little forceful at times which is too much for Adrian and causes him to meltdown. I think with practice though we will all get there!!

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on October 3, 2011, in Family Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wendy (aidensmomma508)

    Good post! I would be so proud to see my son do those things too 🙂

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

