Autism & the iPad

This is a post I have been writing awhile.

This Saturday I attended an Open House for Smart Apps For Kids. I am preparing to find apps to use with Adrian on the iPad we are purchasing him for Christmas. This app Open House is the second app party I have attended. A4cwsn held an app party in October. I had not attended one before so I was not sure what to expect. It was wonderful and that is how I found Smart Apps For Kids.

For those of you who have not been to or heard of an app party or open house before here is a brief description:

App developers attend the party to display their apps. The person\s hosting the party or the app developers will post apps and codes. If you are lucky and fast enough to get a code you get that app. Then you redeem the codes on itunes. I claimed three app codes Saturday night. Some of the developers also lower the price of their apps for the party. For example I purchased a 49.99 app called NeoLithix space-board apps for 24.99. Half off is an amazing deal!!! There are also giveaways where you enter for a chance to win apps or gift cards. You can find videos to review apps before you buy them. I mostly attend to find out what apps there are.

We started out with one app by Good Karma Apps, First Then. I purchased this app last year after Adrian’s OT suggested that he needed a visual schedule. This app lets you use your own photos which I love.

At the app open house I purchased several apps. NxtApp 4 Kids, Dexteria, 1st Grade Digital Workbooks – Space Board Level One, Kidoodle: Pirate Scribblebeard’s Treasure, and Alphabuild.

Since attending this app party Adrian has received an iPad for Christmas and we have been using a lot of the apps mentioned above. I have to say Adrian’s favorite has been one I picked up after he got the iPad. TeachMe 1st Grade by 24x7digital LLC. He loves the fact that he earns coins for correct answers and that when you do subtracting you can place the numbers in the trash can. He has been writing words in this app too. TeachMe 1st Grade.

I have loved seeing him so excited about learning. He claps when he earns a coin or spells a word correctly. The iPad has opened him up and let me see more of what I knew he could do. It’s amazing to see your child having fun while learning.

Posted on January 7, 2012, in Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow…I didn’t know that you went to an open house! I’m definitely interested in learning more about the types of apps that are available. Maybe you could do a few reviews of your favorites and include screen shots? It’s so great to see all the new learning tools being developed, especially for special needs kids! Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

