Growing

January 11, 2012

Today has started as a nervous anxious day! I received a phone call this morning from Adrian’s bus driver asking if I would be okay with him riding on a new bus without a carseat and just a plain seatbelt for the morning only. There was no other bus that could pick him up this morning. I understand they have been short bus drivers because of personal reasons. It is just really scary for us.

Last year during Kindergarten 2010-2011 Adrian started the school year in a regular seat belt. Not good! He was removing the buckle and getting up and wandering around the bus. We did not know at the time. Then one morning I noticed that it looked like he was laying on his stomach on the bus. I called the Special Education Director to report what I had seen and ask what was to be done about it. Adrian was promptly put in a built in car seat after that.

He returned home that day in one piece. His bus driver assured me there had been no incidents of unbuckling. My son is growing, changing, maturing. When we first started I was unsure of so many things, now sometimes I still am but Adrian shows me in every thing he does that he will be okay. I can only be a helicopter parent for so long. With kids like ours the lines of can he/she do this, do they need help with that blurs. I know I still do a lot of things for my son that he can do himself and sometimes that’s okay but other times I need to step back. It’s a delicate balance.

If I see he is struggling though the Mommy in me takes over and he never wants for anything. I would do the same for my oldest too if she let me! She always lets me know when to back off. I hope he will too when he’s ready….

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Family Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

