Adrian and School

This year my son started First Grade, turned Eight years old,  and started his old stuttering habit again.

Adrian has always been a child of cycles. One month he is a child who adores and can not get enough of Thomas the Train, the next it is all about Phineas and Ferb, The next it’s Dora and Boots. These changes have always been boggleing to me. I have a child who absolutley hated transistions but moves with ease from one interest to the next every couple of days weeks or months.

I often thought this might be a prelude to the often misunderstood BiPolar disorder. After all he was diagnosed with Mood Disorder along with ADHD, Sensory Processing Disorder and PDD-NOS. Not long after Epilepsy too. The more I read though the more these cycling interests appear to be “normal” to children on the Spectrum.

When he is in a cycle it is all about that subject. He will speak nonstop about whatever his interest is at that moment. We will hear echolalia from whichever show he is Perseverating on or he will hum a tune from the theme or run around saying “Would You Like A Muffin” to everyone he meets. For those of you who do not know this is a direct Quote from the movie Phineas and Ferb Across the 2nd Demension. He sings a certain song from Walle or says things from Dora. Earlier today he was playing the Simpson’s Arcade game on his iPad and said “Whose in that Robot costume” and the Spanish word for watch out I believe. That’s exactly what Dora would say.

These cycling moods have followed him into school. His Special Education Teacher and I had a phone conference yesterday and she was talking about Adrian’s cycling moods and interests. I have told every teacher he has had that he has cycling moods and Interests. He has since I can remember. Anyways she was the first one to ever acknowledge this as fact, EVER. Any other person always claimed they didn’t notice or said nothing. I know I’m not crazy and I know my child so how they couldn’t notice I don’t understand. I think they may have been trying to spare my feelings and hide the truth that this is Autism.

We did not get Adrian’s official diagnosis until the end of his three years in ECSE in May of 2010. It’s been two years. Adrian has made great strides. He is able to transistion from his General ed classroom to his Resource room. He uses the Resource room for Writing and Math. He is in a peer group of three other Second grade boys doing Second grade math also. The school is planning to try to get an iPad for Adrian to use by himself at school. They hope to do Writing and peer interaction with the iPad. I have some reservations about an iPad being used for peer interactions. Here at home he is the master of his iPad. He is very protective of it and of himself being the one who gets to use it. I have requested that he let Jade borrow it so that she can read an ebook on it. That was not well received. He was able to sit and wait for 15 minutes with little fidgeting. That’s a great accomplishment for him. The last 10 minutes were a nightmare of him yelling and whining for his iPad. I am not sure how well he would share with a peer. If they are not able to purchase an iPad I offered to possibly send his in with him. This comes with other risks of it getting lost, stolen, or broken. I think he could benefit from using an iPad for writing. That is what we bought it for in the first place. He loves iwritewords!  I need to purchase Microsoft Office for his iPad so he can create word documents. I would love to put my Social Stories book by Carol Gray to good use and write social stories for him that he can access too. I just haven’t got there yet.

It is my plan to work on the iPad with Adrian over the summer, toilet train, and pencil work. I expect to be posting often about our hopefully successful experiences.

image

A Social Story about substitute teachers.

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on June 9, 2012, in Family Life, School Education, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

