Mommy has a sick day

I do not get sick often. This past Thursday I got sick. It felt like stomach flu. Not pleasant at all.

My husband thankfully was home that day. I went to relax and then took a nap.

As I was falling to sleep I hear Adrian. He is waiting for daddy to make him lunch and is talking about mommy being sick.

He says very sweetly “daddy mommy is sick,  she vomited and her tummy hurts. We need to take care of her like she takes care of me”. Then daddy asks Adrian how he could take care of mommy “soup and leaving her alone so she can sleep”.

I wake up to “mommy your awake. Do you feel better?”  with a sweet kid like that how could I not?

Then he starts talking about the time he vomited all over his room and mommy had to scrub it clean.

And people say no child with Autism can understand oh they don’t have feelings and they can’t think like us. I’m pretty sure our son would prove any doubters wrong in an instant.

He has thoughts, feelings and can show empathy just like any other child alive. Different, not less than!

About The Spectrum Mom

I am mom to two amazing children!! Jade my oldest is ten and Adrian is 7. My life happens to have one beautiful blessing in disguise the chance to be a mom to a child on the Autism Spectrum. Adrian was diagnosed with PDD-NOS on May 28, 2010 shortly after his sixth birthday. Since the start of our lives on the spectrum I have read books, watched numerous programs, found therapists, tried to navigate the public school system and special education. Looked into special diets (Adrian is currently on GFCF and we have seen tremendous improvement) and tried various medicines to help him. In addition to ASD Adrian also is diagnosed with ADHD and a seizure disorder BRE. This blog will mostly be about ASD and my life caring for Adrian.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Family Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Do people really say no child with Autism could understand? That is so sad. And sick. A child is a child, their understanding will always be unique to them.

    • Yes They do and I have heard it said plenty of times. I can not believe people could think that way about another human being. I have heard so much about how those with autism can not relate or understand others that I try to write about it as often as I can.

  2. Aww! This is so sweet Susan! I absolutely love it! Hug that baby boy for me! ♥

Leave a Reply

